Motivated by Justice, Inspired by Service

Young Lawyers Section

The Young Lawyers Section, founded in 1990 and formerly known as the Lafayette Young Lawyers Association, is a section of the Lafayette Bar composed of attorney members who are either under the age of 40 or who have been practicing law for five years or fewer. Members are dedicated to providing community service in Lafayette Parish. This is an active organization that sponsors several worthwhile programs that take place in the community, such as: Regional Mock Trial allows high school students to study a case, to present it from both the plaintiff’s and the defense’s sides and to act out the trial in a real courtroom setting; and the Holiday Giving Program is an annual fundraiser to support local charities during Christmas.

Along with these programs, Young Lawyer Section members are active in the Lafayette Bar Foundation’s pro-bono efforts that benefit the underprivileged members of the Lafayette community. They volunteer their time to accept Lafayette Volunteer Lawyers cases, to assist with the Homeless Experience Legal Protection (H.E.L.P.) Program, and to represent victims of domestic violence in Protective Order hearings through the Protective Order Panel.

Members of Young Lawyers are the future leaders of Lafayette’s legal community and make up about one-fourth of the entire Lafayette Bar Association community. If you are a young lawyer and an LBA member who would like to join the Young Lawyers Section at no cost, please call 337-237-4700 ext. 104 or email


List of Past Presidents
2018-2019 Jaclyn Bacon
2017-2018 Keith Saltzman
2016-2017 Travis Broussard
2015-2016  Dwazendra Smith
2014-2015 Trey Hightower
2013-2014 Cliff LaCour
2012-2013 Lindsay Meador-Young
2011-2012 Steven Ramos
2010-2011 Danielle Cromwell
2009-2010 Cynthia K. Simon
2008-2009 Gregory Koury
2007-2008 Frank SLavich III
2006-2007 Maggie T. Simar
2005-2006 Tiffany Thorton
2004-2005 Kristen Menard
2003-2004 Kyle Polozola
2002-2003 Brad Felder
2001-2002 Katie Paine
2000-2001 Shannon Dartez
1999-2000 Robert Broussard
1998-1999 Missy Theriot
1997-1998 Daniel Palmintier
1996-1997 Robert Kallam
1995-1996 Tracy Curtis
1994-1995 Robert Torian
1993-1994 Stacy Lee
1992-1993 Steve Lanza
1991-1992 Ian MacDonald
1990-1991 Kirk Piccione