Motivated by Justice, Inspired by Service


YLS Installation Banquet

Young Lawyers Section Officers Installed for 2018-2019

The 2018-2019 Lafayette Bar Association (LBA) Young Lawyers Section held the annual Installation of Officers banquet on Thursday, August 2, 2018. The event was held at La Fonda Restaurant in Lafayette, Louisiana, at 5:30 in the evening. Sponsors of the event included Neuner Pate (Platinum Sponsor); Iberia Bank (Gold Sponsor); Lori Heaphy & Associates and Michael Guthrie – Gulf Coast Office Products (Silver Sponsors). 


La Fonda provided the perfect setting for celebrating the installation of the Young Lawyers Section officers and committee chairs. Guests enjoyed delightful Mexican-cuisine and refreshments as they mingled with colleagues. Installed as President of the Young Lawyers Section for 2018-2019 was Jaclyn Bacon of Dwight Andrus Insurance. Outgoing Young Lawyers Section President Keith Saltzman began the evening with a brief introduction of Hon. Robert Summerhays, United States Bankruptcy Judge for the Western District of Louisiana, who conducted the swearing-in of the new president, officers, and committee chairs. Installed as president-elect was Stuart Breaux of Southern Lifestyle Development Company, L.L.C.; as treasurer was Carolyn Cole of NeunerPate, and as secretary was J. Derek Aswell of Broussard & David.


The Young Lawyers Section Committee Chairs installed were Daniel Phillips of Oats & Marino; Roya Boustany of the 15thJDC Office of the District Attorney; Jeremiah Sams of the Louisiana Department of Justice; Tad Hightower of Stubbs Law Firm, LLC; Jason Matt of Matt & Allen; Philip DeBaillon of Gordon Arata Montgomery Barnett McCollam Duplantis & Egan; Sarah Brown of Caffery Oubre Campbell & Garrison; Travis Broussard of Durio, McGoffin, Stagg & Ackermann; Katherine Currie of Becker & Hebert, LLC; Morgan Druhan of NeunerPate; Phillip Smith of NeunerPate; Jami Lacour Ishee of Davidson, Meaux, Sonnier, McElligot, Fontenot, Gideon & Edwards; and Adam Credeur of The Law Offices of Kenneth W. DeJean. 


As is tradition, the Immediate Past President Keith Saltzman of Anderson, Dozier, Blanda & Saltzman, received a gift from the Young Lawyers Section as a gesture of appreciation for his dedication and service to the section during his presidency. The 2018 Outstanding Young Lawyer Award, an honor meant to embody a member of the Young Lawyers Section who has a commitment to excellence, a commitment to leadership, and demonstrates professionalism, was presented to J. Derek Aswell of Broussard & David.