Motivated by Justice, Inspired by Service


2018 Hall of Fame Honorees


The Lafayette Bar Association will host its fifth annual Hall of Fame banquet at Le Pavillon in Parc Lafayette on September 6, 2018 at 6:00 pm. The Lafayette Bar established the Hall of Fame in 2014 to honor its outstanding attorneys and their contributions to the profession, the Bar, and the community. The Lafayette Parish legal community has a rich history of producing highly successful lawyers, many of whom became trailblazers within the Bar and the Lafayette community. Since 2014, the Bar has recognized twenty-five leaders and community servants. Inclusion in the LBA Hall of Fame is intended to recognize an exemplary career as an attorney, dedicated service to the community, and participation in the Bar.

Richard Becker
Richard Becker graduated from the University of Southwestern Louisiana in 1969 and received his Juris Doctor Degree from Tulane University Law School in 1974. Recognized as a top lawyer in banking, transactional, corporate, and real estate law, he also represented numerous local government agencies and commissions. Richard served the Lafayette legal community as President of the Lafayette Bar and Chairman of the Lafayette Bar Foundation, and the Louisiana legal community as a member of the LSBA Board of Governors and the Louisiana State Law Institute. He recently retired from his practice in 2017.

Lawrence P. Simon, Jr.
Lawrence Simon has practiced commercial and oil and gas litigation with Liskow & Lewis for forty-three years. A 1972 graduate of Tulane University Law School, Larry has served throughout the Louisiana Bar, including as chairman of the Young Lawyers Section and as a member of the House of Delegates and Board of Governors. His peers recognize him as a top lawyer in the areas of appellate practice, business, energy, and natural resources.

Diane Sorola
Described as a consummate professional, Diane Sorola is regarded as one of the best family law attorneys in the Lafayette community. A 1976 graduate of LSU Law School, she has changed the landscape of family and community property law with many notable cases, such as Rodrigue v. Rodrigue, 218 F.3d 432 (5th Cir. 2000). A longtime member of the Lafayette Bar and Family Law Section, Diane served on the Louisiana Bar committee addressing the certification of Family Law Specialists. 

William "Bill" H. Mouton
William “Bill” Mouton graduated from Tulane Law School in 1931. Bill actively practiced law for 67 years, specializing in oil and gas. He was a founding member of the Oakbourne Country Club and the Lafayette General Board of Directors. Bill helped to create the Oil Center, as attorney and advisor to Maurice and Herbert Heymann. He also served in the U.S. Navy during World War II, obtaining the rank of Lt. Commander. Bill will receive his award posthumously.

Joseph Onebane 
Joseph Onebane received a Bachelor of Arts Degree from the University of Southwestern Louisiana in 1941 and a Juris Doctor Degree from Tulane Law School in 1947. He served in the U.S. Air Force during World War II, attaining the rank of Captain. A past president of the Lafayette and 15thJudicial District Bar Associations, Joe was the Senior Founding Member of the Onebane Law Firm in 1977. The Louisiana Bar utilized his legal acumen on law reform, and the revision of State corporate laws, the Civil Code, and Article VII of the La. Constitution relating to the Judicial Branch. Joe will receive his award posthumously.