Motivated by Justice, Inspired by Service


2017 Hall of Fame Honorees

2017 Hall of Fame Honorees
The fourth annual Lafayette Bar Association Hall of Fame banquet will be held at the Le Pavillon on September 7th at 6:00 pm. The Lafayette Parish legal community is one filled with rich tradition and a legacy of producing highly successful lawyers, LBA leaders, and community servants. In order to recognize the contributions of these outstanding attorneys and members of our local bar, the Lafayette Bar Association established the Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame Award is presented to honor the work these exceptional lawyers have done for the legal profession, the Bar, and the public. Inclusion in the LBA Hall of Fame is intended to recognize an exemplary career as an attorney, dedicated service to the community, and participation in the Bar.

Gerald Block graduated from Loyola University of New Orleans in 1971 with a BCS degree and earned his Doctor of Jurisprudence degree from Louisiana State University in 1975. He began his career as a civil law practitioner in private practice before joining the public defender's office in the Lafayette area in 1983 and has continued in criminal defense through the present. When asked what keeps the work interesting after 41 years of practicing law, he said it's both the people and the ever-changing nature of the law. There are different prosecutors and facts of the case, changing laws and other factors that make each day distinct. 
Richard Chappuis graduated from the Paul M. Hebert Law Center at the Louisiana State University in 1965 with a Juris Doctor degree and worked as a Law Clerk for the Honorable Frank W. Summers from 1965 to 1966. He currently serves as President of the Board of Directors for Voorhies and Labbé, and as a member of the Lafayette Parish Bar Association, the 15th Judicial District Court Bar Association, the Louisiana Supreme Court Bar Association, and the American Bar Association. His practice has been devoted to products liability, general aviation and agricultural law, professional malpractice, and municipal law.
The Honorable Eugene Davis attended Samford University in Alabama before receiving a scholarship to Tulane Law, where he earned his law degree in 1960. He was admitted to practice in Louisiana in 1960, where he participated in private practice in New Orleans, Louisiana. In 1964, he began practicing in New Iberia, Louisiana, representing the Southwest Louisiana oil and gas industries until 1976, when President Gerald Ford appointed him U.S. District Court Judge for the Western District of Louisiana. In 1983, President Ronald Regan elevated Judge Davis to the United States Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, a position that he holds today.

Patrick Ottinger graduated from the University of Southwestern Louisiana with a Bachelor of Science degree in 1971. He attended the Paul M. Hebert Law Center, Louisiana State University, from which he graduated with a Juris Doctor degree in December 1973, at which point he established himself in private practice. He is a past President of the Louisiana State Bar Association, past President of the Lafayette Bar Association, and former member of the Board of Governors for the Louisiana State Bar Association. In addition, his tenure for more than two decades as a professor in mineral law at LSU Law Center and his extensive writings on mineral law has had a profound impact on the advancement of this area of our law.

Edwin McGlasson was admitted to the Louisiana Bar in 1959. He graduated from Tulane University with a Bachelor of Science degree in 1955, and with a Bachelor Legum of Law in 1959. He was a Lafayette City Attorney from 1980 to 1992. He served as President of the Lafayette Parish Bar Association in 1971, a member of the 15th Judicial District Bar Association, and served as chair of multiple committees of the Louisiana State Bar Association. He served as both a member and president of numerous civic and community organizations, including the Greater Lafayette Chamber of Commerce, United Way of Acadiana, and Membership Corporation of Lafayette General Hospital. Ed will be receiving his award posthumously.

Diana Simon practiced law from 1974 to 2009. She was the first female litigator in Lafayette and set a new standard for domestic practice for female attorneys. In addition, her work as a law clerk for multiple judges made a significant contribution to litigants.  She made a real sacrifice when, after her initial retirement, she accepted the job of Chairman of the Board of Pardons and Parole, and she served in that position through the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. Dee will be receiving her award posthumously.