Motivated by Justice, Inspired by Service


YLS Tennis Tournament

The first annual Tennis Tournament hosted by the Young Lawyers Section set the precedent for future tournaments.
After many meetings and hours of preparation, the first annual Young Lawyers Section Tennis Tournament had arrived. The favorable weather conditions, on what would have been a miserably hot south Louisiana day in June, foreshadowed the success of the day to come. Starting at eight o'clock on the morning of Saturday, June 17, 2017, members of the Young Lawyers Section, the Lafayette Bar Association (LBA) staff, and volunteers worked together to set up for the day's event at the Red Lerille's Health & Racquet Club tennis courts.  At ten o'clock, participants started to check-in; they were able to enjoy a delicious brunch of shrimp and grits and drinks before the start of their first match.

Just before eleven o'clock, Young Lawyers Section President Travis Broussard gave the opening remarks. He thanked LBA President Missy Theriot, his fellow committee members Jaclyn Bacon, Adam Credeur, Robert Felder, and Keith Salzman, as well as the LBA staff, event sponsors, and the participants. Just before the beginning of the first match, Mark Jeffrey, Head Coach of the ULL Men's Tennis Tournament, spoke a few words before the players hit the courts to warm up. The tournament consisted of men's and women's doubles, each team having the chance to play at least two matches. Some teams were able to advance to a playoff round.

Throughout the day, participants stayed hydrated with sponsor-donated refreshments including water and sports drinks. In the afternoon, sponsor-donated sandwiches were the perfect way for participants to refuel before their upcoming matches.

Later in the afternoon, the advancing teams began to play; just before seven o'clock in the evening, the winning teams were announced. The winners of the Women's Gold Division were Felicia Smith and Michelle Smith, and the winners of the Women's Platinum Division were Jennifer Ardoin and Danielle DeHart. The winners of the Men's Gold Division were Adam Credeur and Derek Bergeron, and the winners of the Men's Platinum Division were Drew Meyers and Tommy Alonzo.
Sponsors Included:
Platinum Sponsor – NeurnerPate
Gold Sponsors – Anderson, Dozier, Blanda & Saltzman; Davidson Meaux; Durio, McGoffin, Stagg & Ackermann; Claire Bergeron Edwards, Attorney at Law; Law Offices of Kenneth W. DeJean; Recovery ChiroMED
Silver Sponsor – Brian Beduze, MassMutual
Beverage Sponsor – McNabb Rehabilitation Services
Brunch Station Sponsor – Another Broken Egg Café
Sandwich Station Sponsor – Jason's Deli
Facility Sponsor – Red Lerille's Health & Racquet Club