Motivated by Justice, Inspired by Service


SLCC Scholarship Awarded

LBA Awards Scholarship to SLCC Student
This year is a very special year for the Lafayette Bar Association, as it celebrates the 50th Anniversary of the Association on May 1, 2019. In the fall of 2018, the past LBA presidents came together to discuss ways to commemorate this milestone. The presidents agreed to celebrate by awarding an academic scholarship to the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and South Louisiana Community College.
Over $28,000 in donations were collected in a matter of days from past presidents and sections of the Lafayette Bar Association (listed below). Because of the overwhelming amount of donations, the Lafayette Bar Association was able to offer two scholarships to Southern Louisiana Community College.
The first of two scholarships was awarded on Thursday, September 12, 2019 to SLCC student Tristan Broussard. 

Tristan is a General Studies major at SLCC's Lafayette Campus. With the help of this scholarship, Tristan will be able to focus on his education and care for his family. He hopes to one day pursue a career as a sports broadcaster and successful entrepreneur. Ultimately, he hopes to be a mentor and leader in our community. He believes that the youth of today is our future, and hopes that he can make a difference the lives of others. 

The Lafayette Bar is extremely proud to have awarded Tristan with this scholarship and looks forward to watching him succeed in his endeavors.
Lafayette Bar Association Past Presidents: Glenn Armentor, Richard Becker, Richard Broussard, Hon. Judge Marilyn Castle, Blake David, Hon. Judge Thomas Duplantier, Kyle Gideon, Joseph Giglio, Thomas R. Hightower, Ralph Kraft, Miles Matt, Robert McBride, John McElligott, Gary McGoffin, Frank Neuner, Kenny Oliver, Donnie O'Pry, Joseph Oelkers, Patrick Ottinger, Missy Theriot, Gregory Voorhies
Lafayette Bar Association Sections: Family Law Section, Young Lawyers Section, and Real Estate and Transactional Section

On Thursday, September 12, 2019, LBA President Maggie Simar and Executive Director Pam Landaiche presented Tristan with his scholarship during the SLCC Scholarship Reception.